The Underwater Christmas Spirit

The Underwater Christmas Spirit

Who says that the Christmas atmosphere cannot be found in tropical places where it is always sunny (or should I say ‘always warm’, it has been pouring cats and dogs this whole week after all)?
To be honest: I do.
Beaches, 30-degree temperatures and palm trees just don’t match with “cozy family gatherings by the fire or under the Christmas tree”.
So I went looking for the Christmas feeling below the ocean surface. Camera in hand I was determined to shoot every scenery that reminded me of all things related to this holidays season.
I actually had a lot of fun and was even surprised by how many subjects I found, I just could not stop taking pictures! I spend four dives shooting just that: Christmas-like sceneries. I even found a ‘snowy landscape’ and a Christmas Angel (which is in fact a feather duster worm spreading its golden ‘wings’)!
One of my favorites you see here.
This beam of ‘heavenly light shining down onto the innocent crinoid’ is actually taken with a snoot. My first snoot ever. And I really like the effect it gives in this picture.

I used the best images to make original underwater Christmas cards. I think especially divers will like them. At least I hope that will be the case 😉
For those who are interested all these images I took and the Christmas cards are to be found on my website: http://www.greetm-photography.com

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

